Braithwaite Hall is a working hill farm situated in the lower reaches of Coverdale which borders the more famous Wensleydale. The farm has a large flock of Swaledale sheep and a beef cattle herd.
Located above the hall on "Braithwaite Hill" stands an iron age fort whose remains can still be seen.
The name Braithwaite is of Scandinavian origin meaning "broad clearing" - a reminder that much of this area was well wooded up to the medieval period. This land was once a forest and supplied firewood to neighbouring Middleham Castle.
The earliest reference to a house at Braithwaite is 1301, when listed as a grange to Jervaulx Abbey. The Hall was also owned by the City of London for a time during the 17th century.
Re-modelled in 1667, the Hall boasts a splendid oak panelled drawing room with a large open fireplace where guests can watch TV or just sit and relax and take in the ambience.
Braithwaite Hall is ideally situated for walking or exploring the famous Yorkshire Dales, with footpaths going through and around the farm.